December 6

20121201-IMG_7490-Edit

This is Goldie, my main ride.  She’s a 9 year old Quarter Horse mare, whose sire was a world champion AQHA halter horse and her dam was a Buckskin World top 10 in halter.  I’ve known her since she was born but didn’t buy her until she was a yearling.  My daughter worked on the farm where she was born in Texas and I instantly liked her (I have a soft spot for bays).  She was a curious little filly, always poking her head over the stall door when somebody was there so she could check everything out.  After we bought her my daughter made the top 10 in yearling longe line at the Texas State 4-H horse show, which is no small feat with its very intense competition.  That was basically the end of her show career as we moved to Tennessee right after that and didn’t have the same opportunities for showing that we were used to in Texas, and my daughter needed to focus on her other horse.  So Goldie was all mine, and I started her and trained her myself.  She’s sweet but still has some spunk to her that keeps me on my toes when I ride her.  She’s a great trail horse, isn’t crazy about arena work unless she’s on the rail.  Any kind of exercise that requires her to think, she’s not too fond of, but we’re working on that.  We call her our Barbie doll because she’s all beauty and doesn’t like to use her brain.  I wouldn’t part with her for anything, though.  We’re a team.

2 responses

  1. very pretty!! Funny story for you: when I was very young and started riding lessons I was paired with a Quarter horse and when the trained had told my mother the breed of the horse she asked “oh really? what are the other 3 quarters ?” We still laugh about that.

    January 31, 2013 at 9:58 am

    • That is funny! I’ll bet Quarter Horses get that a lot.

      January 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

